Mbappe, Ronaldo is not in the initial list in the Ballon fight with Messi-Holland

Mbappe, Ronaldo is not in the initial list in the Ballon fight with Messi-Holland

Mbappe, Ronaldo is not in the initial list in the Ballon fight with Messi-Holland. The preliminary list of Ballon d’Or awards has finally been announced. Lionel Messi and Arling Holland are expected to be in the running for the best footballer of the season 2022-23. Kylian Mbappé and 28 others are competing with them.

Read more : The Saudi club offered a world record amount of money to get Salah

The Ballon d’Or is currently one of the most prestigious awards in the world of football. The awards authority released the preliminary list of the awards on Wednesday (August 6) night. A total of 30 footballers from different countries have made it to the men’s preliminary list.

Priority is given to club and 2022 Qatar World Cup performance in making the preliminary list. Lionel Messi, the best player in the World Cup in Qatar, is therefore on the list as expected. The Argentinian star, who has won the most Ballon d’Ors, could win the award again.

Read more : PSG’s easy win thanks to Mbappe’s double

Earling Holland made it to Manchester City’s treble-winning list. Last season’s impeccable performances made the Norwegian star one of the contenders for the award. Kylian Mbappe, who won the Golden Boot in the World Cup, is also on the preliminary list.

Neymar’s name is not on the list of Brazil’s Vinicius Junior. The Brazilian star was not in the preliminary list of the Ballon d’Or last season as well. Karim Benzema, who won the Ballon d’Or last season, is also in the running for the Ballon.

Ronaldo was in the list of 30 Ballon d’Or winners every year since 2004. The Portuguese star, who has won this award five times, has been dropped from the list. He left Europe and is now playing in Al Nasr club in Saudi Arabia.

List of 30 preliminary nominees for the Ballon d’Or
Victor Osimen, Kylian Mbappe, Luka Modric, Harry Kane, Robert Lewandowski, Antonio Griezmann, Lautaro Martinez, Lionel Messi, Rodri, Martin Odegaard, Arling Holland, Ikai Gundoyan, Julian Alvarez, Eosin Bono, Vinicius Jr., Karim Benzema, Mohamed Salah, Jamal Musiala, Guardiol, Andre Onana, Kolo Muanyi, Jude Bellingham, De Bruina, Bernardo Silva, Bucayo Saka, Amy Martinez, Nico Barella, Ruben Dias, Khabicha Kvarashkhelia, Kim Min-Jay.