Did Ronaldo vote for FIFA the best?

Did Ronaldo vote for FIFA the best?

Did Ronaldo vote for FIFA the best? This year’s event of FIFA The Best took place last night. For a record seventh time, the FIFA Player of the Year Award has been won by Argentine superstar Lionel Messi. The captains and coaches of the national teams vote in this year’s election. And since Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo, the two best stars of the time, are the captains of their respective national teams, there is a question at the center of interest – in whose box did they vote?

Cristiano Ronaldo lost his place in Portugal’s best XI in the middle of the World Cup in Qatar. Although not regular on the field, Ronaldo was the captain of the team on paper. Portugal has yet to play a match after losing to Morocco in the quarter-finals. Ronaldo has not announced any retirement or giving up leadership.

So Ronaldo is naturally discussed on the night of the FIFA best of the year announcement. The 38-year-old superstar was not considered for the Man of the Year award this time, but as captain he had the chance to be voted Man of the Year. So the question arises in the minds of football lovers – who voted for this one of the best footballers in history?

While looking for the answer to the question, it appears – this time Ronaldo did not vote! Defender Pepe, who is close to him in the Portugal team and a one-time team-mate at Real Madrid, was voted as the captain of Portugal.

Read More : Here’s what Messi said after winning his seventh FIFA Player of the Year award

The 40-year-old defender cast his first vote for France superstar Kylian Mbappe in The Best. His former Real Madrid teammates Luka Modric and Karim Benzema were voted second and third respectively.

Along with the captain, the coaches of the national team also vote for The Best. Fernando Santos has stepped down from the post of coach of Portugal after the collapse in the World Cup. Roberto Martinez, the former coach of Belgium, has been appointed as the coach in his place. He voted in this year’s event.

Martinez’s first vote for Footballer of the Year, however, went to Messi’s box. He gave the next two votes to his countryman midfielder Kevin de Bruyne and PSG’s French star Mbappe respectively.

However, it is not known why Ronaldo abstained from voting. However, Ronaldo, who said goodbye to European football this season and moved to Saudi Arabia, was not even on the short list of the best. On the other hand, the arch-rival Messi once again raised the monument of excellence.